January 24, 2009

Today, I took a walk to the Cloisters. My mother insists she brought me as a child, when we lived on the Upper West Side and did that sort of thing, but I have no memory of it. 

I spent most of my visit sitting in a river-facing room warm with late winter light, (I have yet to get an official opinion on whether stained glass makes lux nova outside of a cathedral) reading Austerlitz, by my new favorite W.G. Sebald~the love child, it seems, of Alan Hollinghurst and Walter Benjamin! Nice to know that books can still hold such simple charm.

I made a point, though, of stopping by the famous Hunt of the Unicorn tapestries. I even bought a print of “The Unicorn in Captivity,” which, I learned from the girl at the counter, is the most popular of the series.

However, I was hoping to buy a copy of “The Unicorn Resists.”

There are none for sale.

Leave a Reply

