January 26, 2009

I’m staying with some friends of my parents over break, and the other night they reminded me of my childhood fascination with Ursula from the Disney “Little Mermaid.” 

I have no memory of the fixation, but I certainly found find her compelling. Remind you of anyone we know?

Maybe this all has something to do with the fact that this painting makes me happy.

I did some research, and apparently the Disney Ursula was based on the drag queen “Divine,” a John Waters regular.

Perfect. Now that’s just what I call tasteful for four year olds. Thanks for that, Walt Disney. 

On the upside, Pat Carroll did the voice work.

Which reminds me: did I mention the time at A.’s this summer that I watched “Murder She Wrote” for the first time in more than a decade and hated it? I was shattered.

Leave a Reply

