Three Night Theses From Breton’s “Mad Love”

March 9, 2009

I

I would like my life to leave after it no other murmur than that of a watchman’s song, of a song to while away the waiting. Independent of what happens and what does not happen, the wait itself is magnificent.

II

But this love, the bearer of the greatest hopes that have been translated into art for centuries, I am hard-pressed to see what could stop it from winning out in conditions of life as they might be renewed.

III

What I have loved, whether I have kept it or not, I shall love forever.

Leave a Reply

